User Name:

Password:

remember me

Forgot your password?

Not a member?

Join Now

Books News

RSS feedDisplaying articles 1 - 10 of most recent articles

Top 10 novels about inheritance From Dickens and Du Maurier to Henry James and Shirley Jackson, where theres a will, there are generally the makings of a great story Where theres a will, theres often a row. A legacy need be of no great value to cause a spat: Ive seen grown siblings weep
The Guardian | 6 hours, 53 minutes ago | comment? | recommend
At 58, poet Diana Goetsch finally feels right in her own skin Goetsch grew up in a time when she didn't have the language to help her understand what it meant to be trans. She chronicles her later-in-life transition in the memoir is This Body I Wore.
NPR.org | 7 hours, 24 minutes ago | comment? | recommend
Xi by Kerry Brown review the man who became Chinas president His personal life remains an enigma, but this is a valuable primer for anyone looking to get up to speed on Xi Jinpings rise to global powerIn November 2012 Xi Jinping was made general secretary of the Chinese Communist party, the top spot in the countrys
The Guardian | 13 hours, 50 minutes ago | comment? | recommend
Vladimir by Julia May Jonas review a scandalous affair This clever, engrossing debut about an ageing English literature professor explores female creativity, rage and desireAt the opening of this arresting debut, the narrator, an unnamed English literature professor in her late 50s, is gazing at a beautiful c
The Guardian | 15 hours, 50 minutes ago | comment? | recommend
The end of men: the controversial new wave of female utopian fiction There have been many novels that imagine a world without men but are these books reductive or freeing?All the men are gone. Usually this is conceived as the result of a plague. Less often, the cause is violence. Occasionally, the men dont die and the sexe
The Guardian | 16 hours, 50 minutes ago | comment? | recommend
Good Pop, Bad Pop: An Inventory by Jarvis Cocker review Clearing out his loft gives the former Pulp frontman a chance to look back at his formative years, and the objects that shaped himThe first memoir from the former lead singer of Pulp would have been better titled A History of Jarvis in 100 Objects. Thats
The Guardian | 17 hours, 20 minutes ago | comment? | recommend
'City of Orange' is a post-apocalyptic survival tale perfect for fans of 'The Martian' Fans of Andy Weir's "The Martian" should pick up a copy of David Yoon's new post-apocalyptic survival tale, "City of Orange."
USA Today | 23 hours, 51 minutes ago | comment? | recommend
Animal sexuality may not be as binary as we're led to believe, according to new book NPR's Sacha Pfeiffer talks with Eliot Schrefer, author of Queer Ducks (And Other Animals): The Natural World of Animal Sexuality. It's about how "natural sex" may not be as binary as some think.
NPR.org | May 24, 2022 8:27 PM [GMT] | comment? | recommend
What were reading: writers and readers on the books they enjoyed in May Poet Dean Atta, writer and critic PD Smith and Guardian readers Jessica and Brenda discuss the titles theyve read over the last month. Join the conversation in the commentsIn this series we ask authors, Guardian writers and readers to share what theyve be
The Guardian | May 24, 2022 4:04 PM [GMT] | comment? | recommend
Elif Batuman's sequel 'Either/Or' follows a young woman's sexual awakening Either/Or is Batuman's sequel to her bestselling Pulitzer finalist novel The Idiot.
NPR.org | May 24, 2022 09:09 AM [GMT] | comment? | recommend